Brave Girls by Stacey Radin and Leslie Goldman

Brave Girls ended up greatly disappointing. What I thought would be information to help me raise my 11 year old to be empowered was instead 90% advertisement for the author’s social program, Unleashed, and her consulting business for women executives. Another 10% ended up consisting of facts/studies supporting why what she does in the program is so great. About half way through, I put the book down in disgust, tired of the self congratulatory marketing. It felt like I was reading a pamphlet promoting the program or sitting through a time share presentation on the Unleashed program.

21412264

I was looking for examples or steps I can take now with my daughter to help her navigate middle school and be confident in herself and her abilities. There were precious few in the book other than to have dinner with your daughter once a week away from TV or ask a pointed nebulous questions to see how she answers.  Instead, I get examples of how girls use the Unleashed program – from doing a presentation on adopting dogs or how the author questions each girl who comes into the program to make them self reliant. How they change from liking makeup and boys to wanting to be leaders. How the author’s consulting business helps female executives realize their potential, etc. Etc. Etc. Oh, and a discussion on the author herself and why she is a proud feminist and does so much good for women.

At no time did I get the impression this was written for anyone other than the author and the ‘raising young women with passion and purpose” was about how the author does it in her programs – not how we parents can do it for our own children. The self promotion was so egregious as to make the book unreadable. Try a drinking game using the word “Unleashed” or “I” and you’ll be drunk inside 4 pages.  ANY 4 pages.

I’ll look elsewhere for actual tips and advice on how *I* can raise my daughter to be brave and independent. Preferably, with an author who respects my time and commitment enough to actually write for me and my daughter – instead of me paying money for self aggrandizing rhetoric.

Reviewed from an ARC provided by the publisher and one of my very few 1 star reviews in years.

This entry was posted in ARC, Book Reviews, childrens, home schooling, non fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brave Girls by Stacey Radin and Leslie Goldman

  1. Angela says:

    It’s a shame that what could have been a great book for mother’s of girls everywhere had to be a marketing ploy. Thanks for the review, this is likely something I would have gotten had I not known any better!

Leave a Reply

