Avatar: The Last Airbender – Smoke and Shadow Part Three

These books are so beautiful to look at and read – they almost make up for not being animated. Fans of the series will revel in how the story continues organically from where the series left off – especially focusing on Zuko’s family and the Fire Nation. The illustration is spot on, the colors lush, and the story true to the canon.

Smoke_and_Shadow_Part_3_cover.png

Story: Azula has been revealed as the leader of the shadow-figures Kemurikage. With the help of Mai’s father, Azula is rounding up children and spreading fear throughout the Fire Nation. But Zuko isn’t alone – along with Aang, Mai, and more, they will track down Azula and bring an end to the tyranny that is chipping away at the foundation of the Fire Lord’s rule.

Some new characters have been added but for the most part, this is all familiar faces. Zuko has a rival for Mai’s affections and he also wants to save both Mai’s and his siblings. There is some conflict with Aang but this really is Zuko’s show.

The language is easy and early readers should have no problems with the simple sentence structures of the dialogue.

I really can’t recommend this highly enough – it’s so wonderful to see the story continued and true to the world. Reviewed from an advance reader copy provided by the publisher.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, graphic novel. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Avatar: The Last Airbender – Smoke and Shadow Part Three

  1. Jon says:

    Please tell me Azula doesn’t die

  2. Chel says:

    does azula live?

    • Online Eccentric Librarian says:

      That would be giving a spoiler. 🙂

      • Online Eccentric Librarian says:

        To answer that would be to give a spoiler 🙂

      • Chel says:

        Please, I have been having actual anxiety over this. I’ve seen rumors saying she’s going to die and I feel sick thinking about it. I really can’t take it if they were to kill her off, and now that smiley face just makes me think the worse.

  3. Online Eccentric Librarian says:

    Hi – you can send a pm to https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/15784017-online-eccentric-librarian and I’ll answer in private for spoiler reasons.

  4. star-18 says:

    I hope Azula doesn’t die. That will ruin both the trilogy and my world!

  5. nnnnfff says:

    Please don’t make Azula die! I really feel sick even in the thought of it!

  6. Jen says:

    DON’T MAKE AZULA DIE!!

  7. Brian says:

    I’m most asking you to answer any serious spoilers or anything but judging from this review and possibly the preview, it looks like it might negate or contradict what happened between Zuko and Azula n the The Search. Redemption for villains is normally a MASSIVE no no for me and Azula is my favorite character and one of my top villains of all time. I don’t care which side she sticks with in the end but killing her off is something I don’t want to happen. I promised that if it did then I will never check out anymore Avatar comics from now on.

Leave a Reply

